Show Menu
  • Hero_Prize_2019
  • hero_1_2018
  • Master-hero_5_2018

The Mogford Prize for Food & Drink Writing

An introduction from Jeremy Mogford:

I am lucky enough to have enjoyed a lifetime in the hospitality industry with my involvement with Browns Restaurants, Rules in London and my current Oxford collection of the Old Bank and Old Parsonage Hotels, Quod Restaurant, Parsonage Grill and Gee’s Restaurant.

The city of Oxford has been an historical centre for literary excellence, so it seemed the perfect idea to create and sponsor an annual short story prize which specifically included the subjects of food and/or drink within the plot.

Entries for the 2019 prize open this November and we’re very excited to announce that Julian Barnes, Man Booker Prize winner, has kindly agreed to be our main judge, and the second judge is Tim Hayward, FT contributing writer and winner of the Restaurant Writing Award at the Guild of Food Writers Awards 2018….

The 2018 Mogford Prize Results...

Jane Cammack was the sixth winner of the annual Mogford Prize for Food and Drink Writing. Her story ‘The Glass Kitchen’ was  selected from over 900 entries from across the globe. Jeremy Mogford, sponsor of the prize, presented Jane with a cheque for £10,000 and an engraved award at the Mogford Prize party held at Quod Restaurant & Bar in Oxford.

Jane was overjoyed and immediately said, ‘My mother is my reader and she is going to be thrilled when she learns I have won.’ After thanking everyone, she went on to say, ‘Writers are often plagued with self-doubt, and prizes like this give recognition and encouragement. They give the necessary inspiration to keep writing, to keep putting words out there for the readers.




Jane is no stranger to writing. One of her short stories was awarded the international Rubery Award and an historical fiction novel was in the last five of over 5,000 entries for the Daily Mail First Novel competition.

Trained as an opera singer at The Royal College of Music in London, she went on to sing at the ENO, Glyndebourne and La Scala before concentrating on family life and raising children. Looking for a change of career, Cammack completed a two-year diploma course in creative writing at Oxford University and is currently writing a psychological thriller.

The judges for the 2018 prize were Jeremy and Hilary Mogford, award-winning writer Bill Bryson and cookery writer Lorraine Pascale. Besides Jane Cammack, the short list featured three other writers: Irem Alici, Michael Lonty, and Paula McQueen.

Jane Cammack’s winning story, ‘The Glass Kitchen’, can be read online or enjoyed in an audio format produced by The Story Player read by the British actor Jonny McPherson.